first_imgAfter compiling information on the election results, the State Election Commission on Sunday announced results for 846 zilla parishad seats for which elections were fought on party symbols.Single largestThe ruling Biju Janata Dal has emerged as single largest party winning 473 ZP seats while the BJP has improved its tally to 297. The Congress has won 60 seats.While independent candidates have won 11 seats, the CPI(M), the JMM and the Ama Odisha Party have succeeded in one seat each.Victorious candidatesThe State Election Commission will publish names of victorious candidates in a gazette notification to be issued on March 2.There are total 853 ZP seats. Elections could not be held in Chitrokonda-7 and Chitorkonda-8 in Malkangiri district, Komna-2 zone of Nuapada and Gania-20 of Nayagarh district. Announcement of results of Belapada-26 of Bolangir, Sheragarh-3 of Ganjam and Niali-20 of Cuttack districts was held up for varied reasons.Expressing dissatisfaction over elections results going against party candidates, State unit of BJP on Sunday announced to provide legal assistance to candidates who would approach the courts seeking recounting.Five phase pollsParty sources said at many places party candidates had won basing on the counting that followed voting in five phase of panchayat elections, but final results gave a different picture. It needs to be mentioned that the BJP had estimated its tally over 300 while the State Election Commission results put its tally at 297.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *