first_imgCPI(M)-led Left Front on Tuesday announced its list of candidates for the coming assembly elections in Tripura without major changes. While all Ministers and prominent MLAs had been renominated again, 12 new faces also figured in the list. .Surprisingly, the smaller constituents of the front such as the CPI, RSP and the Forward Bloc had altogether been allotted three seats Except Forward Block, the other two were allotted two seats each in the last elections.CPI(M) state secretary Bijan Dhar along with senior leaders of the front announced the list of nominees at the party head office. However, none of them explained why smaller left parties were given just three seats in the 60-member assembly.Chief Minister Manik Sarkar’s candidature from Dhanpur assembly seat came as no surprise though rumours were doing round that he might change his constituency. CPI(M) Rajya Sabha member Jharna Das Baidya was named for Badharghat constituency in Agartala city outskirts. With her and Krishna Mazumder, Mayor of Agartala Municipal Council, seven of the candidates were women.CPI(M) front DYFI’s state president Amal Chakraborty had been nominatedfrom Banamalipur seat. Current MLA Gopal Roy of Congress had won the seat for three successive terms.CPI(M) also nominated three Muslim candidates and one from Manipuri community.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *